Article Image Alt Text

KING AND FAMILY - Rayne’s newly crowned 2016 Beautillion King, Damian LeBlanc Jr., seated, was joined by his family during Saturday’s Beautillion Ball held at the Rayne Civic Center by the A & O 21st Century Club, including, standing from left, 2014 King Jayson Thomas, escort Diajih Young, mother April Evans and father Damian LeBlanc Sr.

A & O 21st Century Club presents Beautillion

King crowned, community service awards presented

The A & O 21st Century Club, Inc. staged its 2016 Annual Beautillion on Saturday, Nov. 26, at the Rayne Civic Center entitled, “20th Anniversary - Grow, Learn, Lead.”
During the evening’s festivities set against formal black and white background with a touch of red, the 2015 honoree, Jayson Thomas, crowned his successor, King Damian LeBlanc Jr.
Damian is the son of April Evans and Damian LeBlanc Sr. and a senior at Rayne High School. His escort for the special event was Diajih Young.
The new Beautillion King was also named “Mr. Debonair”.
Named First Runner-Up Johnny Deculit, son of Janet and Conrad Brown and a junior at Rayne High School. His escort for the evening was Tasia Duhon.
Completing the list of Beaus, along with their escorts are:
Drekylon Gibson, junior at Rayne High School and the son of Sylvia Mouton and the late Leroy Gibson. His escort was Keysuana Moore;
Keshun Roberts, a Rayne High School senior and the son of Tara Roberts and Ron Charles. His escort was Aurora LeBlanc;
Tony O’Brien Roberts Jr., a junior at Rayne High School and the son of Mr. and Mrs. Tony Roberts Sr. His escort was Jasmine Fontenot; and
Charles Solomon, a Rayne High School senior and the son of Mary Angelle and Darby Angelle. His escort was Angel Vallier.
Also acknowledged during the Beautillion, the Ronald Duplichain Community Award was presented to an outstanding individual who contributes towards the good of the city. The 2016 honorees honored during the evening’s festivities were Tony and Louana Roberts for their work with the local SwampGators football program for Rayne youth.
Brian Mouton was named A & O’s “Man of the Year” for his dedication to the club and community.
From the Sisters of A & O, the award for the 2015 “Sister of the Year” was presented to Sadie Wheeler, while Mary Jack was acknowledged as the 2016 Supporter of the Year. Both have served the club in a most helpful manner in service for the community.
Honorees and guests were welcomed by A & O President William Board, who delivered the welcome address, followed by the invocation by Deacon Nolton Senegal.
Serving as master of ceremonies was Carlos Prudhomme who introduced the outgoing 2015 honoree, Jayson Thomas, son of Sadie Wheeler and Jason Thomas.
A minuet choreographed by the Sisters of A & O, presented the Beaus and their escorts, along with last year’s king who delivered his farewell address.
Also introduced during the evening’s program were past Beautillion honorees. Among those in attendance were Raymond McDowell IV (1995), Steve Johnson (2000), Bradley Larry (2002), Miles Sias (2004), Jordan Wade (2007), Freddie Broussard (2009), DeAndré Broussard (2011), DeWane Jolivette (2013) and Desmond Cole (2014).
The toast to the royalty was led by Hilda Wiltz, as entertainment and music for general dancing was provided by Chazem Entertainment.
The presentation was completed with the grand waltz participated by the Beaus and their mothers.
Special thanks to the many volunteers who offered their assistance and helped with another successful Beautillion Ball.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793