Article Image Alt Text

Highlights of the Past

40 years ago
... The St. Michael’s basketball team captured first place trophies in both the seventh and eighth grade divisions of the Teurlings Basketball tournament held in Lafayette. The team includes Kevin Broussard, Bubby Mackey, Dane Daigle, Russ Cassedy, Donovan Adams, Steven Boulet, Allen Cassidy, Rod Lafosse, Bubba Dupont, Kevin Barbin, Russell Cryer, Kevin Seilhan, Keith Seilhan, Todd John and Brian Williams.
... Students in Sheila Morrison’s first grade class at Egan Elementary School made Christmas ornaments. Those participating were David Russell, Gwen LaPretre, Willie Lanthier, Bobbie Myers, Tracy Crochet, Gregory Arabie, Tonia Broussard Keith Hines, Chris Clay, Dawn Domingue, Danda Richard, Chris Hebert, Glory Fontenot, Rebecca Hanks, Russell Rasberry, Chad Dommert, Gregory Broussard, Ryan Pousson, Brad Simar, Steven Mar, Rachel Morgan, Sean Schexnider, Lyle Regan, Lester Fontenot, Hank Harris, Brandon LeJeune, David Oliver, Barry Fontenot, Ray Monceaux and Tracy Lehmann.
... During a special school assembly held at Morse Elementary, certificates of perfect attendance for the second six weeks went to the following 7th grade students, Darren Breaux, Jimmy Broussard, Lenore Broussard, Carol Clement, Joey Gautreaux, Paula Guidry, Paulette Guidry, Troy Guillory, Neil Hanks, Francis LeBlanc, LeeRoy Lepretre, Michael Marceaux, Lynette Simon, Kevin Thibodeaux, Rachel Vincent and Hebert Clement.

25 years
... Sadie Smith, a junior at Crowley High and the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Sherman Smith Jr., has been chosen as “FHA Member of the Month” at CHS.
... Members of the 7-8-9 year old Jayhawks flag football team include Gregory Mouton, Joshua Smith, Eric Smith, Britlyn Doucet, Coty Thibodeaux, Randal Welsh, Lodje Steel, Charles Wise, Jeremiah Chambers, Glen Howie Jr., Coy Deville, Darrel Doucet, assistant coach and Hollis Doucet Jr. coach.
... Solitic Club members and their children who helped set up the display of trees for “Christmas Around the World” include Jacob Meyer, John Nickel, Brooke Gardiner, Catherine Mire, Elise Webb, Kevin Gardiner, Andre Dupuis, Rene Leger, Alex Miller, Andrew Schumacher, Eric Cormier, Russ Freeland, Daniel Brunson, William Schumacher, Veronica Savoie, Pam Darr, Keitha Gardiner, Elise Nickel, Beth Everett, Laurie Gardiner, Elise Brunson, Catherine Hetzel, Susette Bruson, Barbara Meyer, Sheila Rothermel, Charisse Webb, Lisa McNeely, Lynette Nickel, Stephanie Elfert, Sarah Elfert, Jeanne Nickel, Caroline Nickel, Mari Mayeux and Anna Miller.
10 years
... A holiday celebration was held at the Grand Opera House of the South. Hosting the event was Dugas, Soileaux and Breaux, the Rice Palace, The Grand Opera House and Evangeline Bank. Those participating Sandy Melancon, Elliot Dore, Sarah Fox, Dave Pierce, Mike McBride, Chee Chee Gielen, Jo Ann Broussard, Kayla Link, Jeannie Ardoin, Kim Gattle, Troy Breaux, Pat Miers, Jake Ardoin, Scott Soileaux, Tony Douget, Daniel Fontenot, Ken Dugas, Kim Bernard, Jeff Dore, Melinda Malmay, Danny Nugier, Bryan Francis, L.J. Gielen and Bryant Gielen.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793