Article Image Alt Text

Highlights of the Past

40 years ago
... James Savoy, was presented the keys to the City of Crowley by Mayor Robert Istre for his being named Player of the Week. Istre also presented Savoy with a recognition award for his performance. Also present for the ceremony was Crowley High head football coach Willard Hanks.
... Elected as the Student Council representatives at Crowley Jr. High School were Lisa Linscomb, Shelley Laracca, Billy Petry, Tim Hargrave, Scott Daily, Stephen Satchel, George Meaux, Brian Minix, Tim Creaduer, Donna Deatweiler, Susan Deshotels, Jonette DeStefano, Gerri Broussard, Willette Trahan, Nenna Atkinson, Terri Hargrave, Connie LeBlanc, Michelle Jeanise, Lynn Goss, Angela Guillory, Janice Edinger, John Broussard, Ann Henderson, Marcina Dominque, Victor Touchet, Roy Givens, Brian Guidry and Denice Fruge. The Student Council sponsor was Mrs. L. Wilkerson.
... Named as the 1980-81 Nike Club officers at Crowley High School were Angelle Stringer, president; Myra Cox, first vice president; Melanie Broussard, second vice president; Gail Hoyt, secretary; and Stephanie Hanagriff, treasurer. The Nike Club is sponsored by the Crowley Business and Professional Women’s Club.

25 years ago
... Members of the Saints in the 10-12 year old Football League include Jason Bellard, Grant Ancelet, Thaddius Hawkins, Brandon Schexnider, Courtney Comeaux, Matthew Monceaux, Brian Richard, Tyson Foux, Eric Roberts, Marcus Deville, Timothy Leonards and Coaches Tim Credeur and Glenn Deville.
... Members of the Jets in the 7-9 year old Soccer League include Holly Dupuis, Amy Simon, Ashley Wilkerson, Andre Broussard, Jude Stelly, Michael Istre, Coach Don Alleman, Mark Alleman, Christopher Craton, Jared Johnson, Matthew Baronet and Coach Ann Mire.
... The State Senior Olympic Games were held in Baton Rouge. Those from Crowley taking part were Howard Newman (gold medals in rifle and pistol), Robert Vincent (gold in golf) and Louise and John Webb (silver in mix doubles bowling).

10 years ago
... Acadia Parish Teachers of the Year were honored during a luncheon at Chef Roy’s Frog City Café. Among those honored were Elementary Teacher of the Year Carla Lambousy of Crowley Kindergarten; Middle School Teacher of the Year Michael Johnson of Armstrong Middle; and High School Teacher of the Year Donna Meaux of Crowley High School. The were joined by Margaret Jones, executive director of curriculum; Board President Lynn Shamsie; and Superintendent John E. Bourque.
... A Veteran’s Day program was planned by members of the Acadia Chapter Veterans Committee, Daughters of the American Revolution, including Vice-Regent Joanna Pruitt; District VI Director and Secretary Charlene Lacombe; Chaplain Elaine Simon; Veterans Chairman Laura Mackle; DAR Museum Chairman Flo Jones; Secretary Jo Anne Arnaud; Commemorative Events Chairman Margaret Brunson; The Flag of the United States of America and American Heritage Chairman Alma Reed; and Conservative Chairman, Camille Reed.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793