Three LSU standouts named finalists for national awards

Three members of the LSU football team – quarterback Joe Burrow, wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase and safety Grant Delpit – have been named finalist for national awards.
The trio will take part in the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 12 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The winners of many of college football’s national awards – along with the Walter Camp All-America Team – will be announced at the College Football Awards Show.
Burrow, a senior from Athens, Ohio, is a finalist for the Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year) and the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award (Nation’s Best Quarterback); Delpit, a junior from Houston, is a finalist for the Thorpe Award (Nation’s Best Defensive Back), while Chase, a sophomore from Metairie, is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award (Outstanding Receiver).
Burrow, the record-setting quarterback for the 11-0 and top-ranked Tigers, currently leads the Southeastern Conference and ranks No. 2 in the nation in passing yards (4,014), passing yards per game (364.9), and passing TDs (41).
He’s also first in the league and No. 3 in the nation in total offense (386.6) and points responsible for (248). Burrow has already broken the LSU single-season record for completions, passing yards, TDs, and total offense. Burrow is the first quarterback in SEC history to throw for 4,000 yards and 40 TDs in a single-season.
Chase owns the LSU single-season record for TD receptions with 15. He’s tied for first in the nation in receiving TDs (15) and he leads the SEC and ranks No. 3 in the nation in receiving yards (1,260). Chase is the first player in LSU history with two 200-yard receiving games during the regular season. He’s also three TDs away from tying the SEC single-season mark of 18 held by Reidel Anthony of Florida.
Delpit, a unanimous All-America as a sophomore in 2018, ranks fourth on the LSU team in tackles with 50. He’s also recorded two tackles for loss, has six passes defended and an interception for the No. 1 ranked Tigers.
LSU, which has clinched a spot in next week’s SEC Championship Game against Georgia, closes out the regular season on Saturday when the Tigers host Texas A&M at 6 p.m. in Tiger Stadium.
LSU’s Brady named semifinalist for
assistant Coach of the Year award
BATON ROUGE – LSU passing game coordinator and wide receiver coach Joe Brady has been selected as one of 15 semifinalists for the 2019 Broyles Award, which is presented to the top assistant coach in college football, the Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation announced on Tuesday.
Brady, who is in first year with the Tigers, is one of only three Southeastern Conference assistant coaches on the list as he’s joined by Auburn defensive coordinator Kevin Steele and Georgia defensive coordinator Dan Lanning. Brady is the only coach on the list of semifinalists with a title other than offensive or defensive coordinator.
Brady and offensive coordinator Steve Ensminger have transformed the LSU offense into the most explosive unit in college football. The Tigers are averaging 48.5 points per game (No.1 in the SEC and No. 2 in the nation) and 561.2 total yards per game (No. 1 in the SEC and No. 2 in the nation).
LSU’s passing offense ranks first in the conference and second in the nation with an average of 386.8 yards per game. The Tigers have already set the school marks for total yards in a season (6,173) and passing yards in a season (4,255).
The list of 15 Broyles Award semifinalists will be reduced to five finalists, who will be then travel to Little Rock, Ark., where the 2019 winner of the Broyles Award will be announced on Dec. 10 at the Marriott Hotel.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793