The Acadia Parish School Board members for the 2019-2022 term were sworn in during ceremonies at the School Board office. Included are, from left, Steve Jones, District 5 (Rayne); Becky Atkinson, District 4 (Crowley); Bishop James Proctor, District 1 (Crowley); James Higginbotham, District 7, APSB president (Church Point area); Delo Hebert, District 3, APSB vice-president (Midland area); Ike Richard, District 6 (Church Point area); Milton Simar, District 8 (Iota area) and Douglas LaCombe, District 2 (Crowley-Egan area).

School Board members sworn in as year begins

The Acadia Parish School Board met on Monday for the first meeting of the new year — the first for newly elected board members.

Through official proclamation, Mayor Tim Monceaux has designated Monday, Jan. 21, as “Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day” in the city of Crowley, encouraging citizens to observe the day with appropriate activities and programs that honor the memory and legacy of Dr. King. On hand for the presentation of the proclamation Tuesday morning at city hall were, from left, Christopher Mayfield, PUSH member; Police Chief Jimmy Broussard; Mayor Monceaux; DeBira Broussard, chairperson, Martin Luther King Youth Musical; Dr. Ezora Proctor, NAUW consultant; Bishop James W. Proctor, Acadia Parish School Board member; and Latitka Charles, West Crowley Advisory Board.

Programs planned to celebrate Dr. King

The Crowley Alumni Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority will host the city’s annual Martin Luther King Jr. Day program Monday.


Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
602 N. Parkerson Ave, Crowley, LA 70526
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
108 North Adama, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793